And As For Us?

O that my words were written down! O that they were inscribed in a book! O that with an iron pen and with lead they were engraved on a rock forever! For I know that my Redeemer lives, and that at the last he will stand upon the earth; and after my skin has been thus destroyed, then in my flesh I shall see God, whom I shall see on my side, and my eyes shall behold, and not another. (Job 19:23-27)

We just heard Job lamenting about his troubles. . . not just lamenting, but screaming to God. . .

Oh that my words would be written on a scroll
Oh that my words could be engraved in stone
But, in spite of all his losses and troubles, we hear:
But as for me, I know my redeemer lives, and that at the last he will stand upon the earth (Job 19:25)

Think about the trials job has been through:

But through it all, Job knows that he will not die a final death, but that

I know my redeemer lives (Job 19:25)

First, Job says

And as for me (Job 19:25)

He has a personal conviction, a truth uttered from that heart of his faith in God.

    AND AS FOR ME…!

These are the words of someone who will not be convinced otherwise. He knows the truth and no matter whatever happens, he says

And as for me. I know my redeemer lives (Job 19:25)

Here is a man; a righteous man by God’s own declaration, who is constantly being tempted by Satan to give up on God. This poor man has gone through the most horrible things in his life:

    He has lost everything he ever held dear.
    His children have all died.
    His crops and livestock are gone.
    His flesh is covered with boils and sores.
    He is in constant, excruciating pain.

But does he lose his faith in God? NO!

And as for me. I know my redeemer lives (Job 19:25)

    His own wife has left her kitchen to find him in his pile of ashes an
    His wife constantly nags him to give up on God
    His best friends have come over to sit at his side and harass him about his faith and suggest that he is crazy.
    His own doubts about his faith begin to gnaw at him.

But does he lose his faith in God? NO!

And as for me. I know my redeemer lives (Job 19:25)

His saving faith, in spite of all his suffering makes him say:

I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last He will take His stand on the earth. Even after my skin is destroyed, yet from my flesh I shall see God; Whom I myself shall behold, and whom my eyes shall see and not another (Job 19:25—27)

He knows that there is salvation – that he will be redeemed in the end by the grace of God through the resurrection of Jesus.

That is pretty powerful faith.

Do we have that faith in us?

Do we have a rock-solid conviction that what Job and God says is true: that we are redeemed by Christ? That we are ready to confront the evils of the world and still know:

I know my redeemer lives (Job 19:25)

That that ‘redeemer’ is Jesus and He came for US to redeem and save us..
Job knew he belonged to God, he had confidence in God and His goodness and faithfulness to say,

And as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives (Job 19:25)

Do you know that?

Is that your firm conviction today? Can you stand on the highest hill and shout with confidence,

I KNOW that my Redeemer lives? (Job 19:25)

Christ is our Redeemer; He delivered us from bondage by paying the ransom with His own sinless blood. The wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. We hear in Romans 10:9

if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you shall be saved.

Do you see that death means nothing to faith? Job believed that. .

If you can boldly proclaim,

    And as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives and at the last He will take His stand on the earth

then you can also confidently declare that no matter what happens to you, your Redeemer will save you and you will look with your own eyes on God!

It is the faith of the ages, as changeless as God Himself, and it is the very power of God to save all who believe.

Can you say:

    AND AS FOR ME…?

Let us pray:

Dear Lord, even as Job was tested, he held firm in his faith in You and Jesus. Give us the strength to, through any adversity, hold strong to our own faith as Job did to his. We know that there is no final death and that someday we will be in the company of all God’s faithful people.

Amen
 
 
Delivered to In The Garden, Trinity Episcopal Church on Capitol Square, Columbus, OH 10 November 2013

Leave a Reply

